Plantain Crackers

I hate bananas.
Hate is almost an understatement.
However I do not hate plantains- yes I know they are different BUT they really look similar and when you hate bananas as much as I do Plantains are pretty freaky looking!

A couple of weeks ago I decided to cut out seeds and nuts. This was rather upsetting and inconvient for me because I had made these Paleo version of a mynewroots recipes for seed/nut cracks(life changing crackers) and they were basically what I ate all day inbetween meals.
SO I needed a new cracker. Snack with starch or CRUNCH can be very challenging when eating paleo. I fortunately discovered the website: autoimmune-paleo.com
now I LOVE PLANTAINS.
I cannot stop eating them. I want them as crackers, as chips as soft slightly sweet and sauteed.
This recipe is a bit tricky without a blender (I use an immersion blender and it’s quite labor intensive) BUT delicious.
From: http://autoimmune-paleo.com/garlic-rosemary-plantain-crackers/

2 large, green plantains
½ cup coconut oil, melted
2 tablespoons fresh rosemary, chopped
1 teaspoon granulated garlic
½ teaspoon sea salt

INSTRUCTIONS
Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F.
Cut a slit from one end to the other of the plantains and use that cut to peel them. Chop them into large chunks and place them in a high-powered blender or food processor with the coconut oil, rosemary, garlic, and sea salt.
Blend or process until a slightly thick and chunky mixture forms. Pour out onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and smooth out until it is a ¼” thick with either a spatula or another piece of parchment paper and a rolling pin.
Bake in the oven for 10 minutes. Remove and score into 1½” crackers with a knife. Place back into the oven and cook for another 50 minutes to 1-hour. They are finished cooking when the crackers are a nice medium brown and the ones in the middle are no longer soft. You may need to cook these up to 20 minutes more to let them get fully crispy.

Leave a Reply

